River Hill Teens Strengthen Our Community

dscn5681The River Hill Community Association works hard to engage residents of all ages and is proud of the local teens who have committed to giving back to our community. In 2010, the Association’s Board of Directors established two committees to enable a greater number of teens to be involved: the Student Member Committee of the Board, and the Teen Advisory Committee (TAC). Through their service, these teens develop a better understanding of the community, strengthen their leadership skills, and build on individual interests and strengths. They also have a lot of fun in the process. Through their involvement, the River Hill community grows stronger. The Association is currently seeking teens who are interested in serving on these committees. Applications for the September 1, 2015 – August 31, 2016 term are now available and must be submitted by May 29.

Michael Dai currently serves on the Student Member Committee. This committee, which may have a maximum of two members, is directly involved in the governance of the Association. The Student Members attend all meetings of the Board of Directors, have an advisory vote on issues before the Board, provide a liaison role between their schools and the association, and are responsible for chairing the TAC. Applicants for this committee must be rising juniors or seniors.

This year’s TAC members are: Nathalie Eegholm, Arienne Guiv, Ali Hovet, Victoria Kogan, Karen Ni, Madison Sage, Nicole Young, Stacy Young, and Jennifer Zhang. These enthusiastic youth volunteered at the River Hill Health Fair, had a float in River Hill’s Independence Day Parade, planned and ran the activities at the Association’s annual Halloween and Breakfast with Santa events, organized and ran the Multicultural Craft Fair, and volunteered at the Columbia-wide Searching for Spring event. Additionally, the committee members recruited many teen volunteers who were essential to the success of these events and as a result developed stronger ties to our community.

The Village Board will appoint the members of both committees following an application and interview process. Applications are available at Claret Hall or online at www.villageofriverhill.org. under the “Volunteer” tab. Select “Student Committees” for all of the information. The deadline for applications is May 29, 2015. Applicants will be interviewed at the June 1 Board Meeting. For more information, contact Susan M. Smith at 410-531-1749 or manager@villageofriverhill.org.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply